Governance

Le conseil d’administration

Le conseil d’administration est le corps dirigeant de l’association. Toutes les décisions importantes doivent passer par le conseil d’administration avant de prendre effet. Le conseil d’administration est composé de trois groupes principaux : le comité exécutif, les sénateurs, et les groupes constituants ainsi que divers autres représentants. Le comité exécutif comprend le président, le vice-président des politiques et de la défense des intérêts, le vice-président de la vie étudiante et le directeur général. L’AGÉ compte six sénateurs, dont un doit être élu par le Cercle des étudiants indigènes. Il y a des sièges pour chacun de nos groupes de circonscriptions identifiés, ainsi que trois sièges pour le logement : un siège pour les résidences hors campus, un siège pour les résidences de la Laurentienne, un siège pour les résidences fédérées et un siège pour un représentant communautaire ou de la Laurentienne. Le conseil d’administration est responsable de l’approbation du budget et des opérations annuels de l’AGÉ. Il ratifie également les clubs de l’AGÉ, crée des politiques pour aider à guider l’organisation, et est responsable de l’établissement et du respect de la Constitution et des statuts pour la conduite de ses affaires. Chaque année, le conseil d’administration est le parrain légal des élections et des référendums pour l’AGÉ.

Membres de le conseil d’administration

Positions Name Email Program Year
Womens’ Representative Lovette Nyembwa mnyembwa@laurentian.ca
Community Representative Tannys Laughren tlaughren@hsnsudbury.ca Former SGA/AGE Executive Director N/A
Indigenous Representative Christine Trudeau ctrudeau1@laurentian.ca
Pride Representative Kyle Laframboise klaframboise1@laurentian.ca
International Representative Peter Olowu aolowu@laurentian.ca
Chair & Faculty of Arts Justin Pappano sgaagechairperson@laurentian.ca Modern Languages & Lit. 2
Faculty of Education Robert Moyer rmoyer@laurentian.ca History and Con Ed. 4
Faculty of Health Taylor Staden tstaden@laurentian.ca Sport Psychology 3
Faculty of Management Noah Blackwell nblackwell@laurentian.ca
Faculty of Medicine Jennifer Glassford  jglassford@nosm.ca
Faculty of Science, Engineering, and Architecture Simone Smith  ssmith9@laurentian.ca
Laurentian Residence Representative Luke Robinson lrobinson3@laurentian.ca
Federated Residence Representative Levi Clow lclow@laurentian.ca
Off-Campus Representative Serina Seguin sseguin1@laurentian.ca
Barrie Representative Amber Craig  ax_keefer@laurentian.ca  Social Work 4
ISC Senator Natalia Liberty nliberty@laurentian.ca
Senator Matthew Keith mkeith@laurentian.ca
Senator Jacob Fielding  jfielding@laurentian.ca
President Eric Chappell sgapresident@laurentian.ca BBA
Vice President of Student Life Tomas Antolin Grant vpstudentlife@laurentian.ca ADVL 3
Vice President Education Katlyn Kotila vpeducation@laurentian.ca Communications and Political Science 2
Interim COO of the SGA/AGÉ Jenna Thornber sga@laurentian.ca SGA COO N/A
First-year rep. Cory Clark cclark3@laurentian.ca

Executives

  • Malek Abou-Rabia
    Malek Abou-Rabia Vice-President Education

    Malek represents and advocates for the interests of the student body in conversations with the university and elected officials. It is also Malek’s responsibility to carry out educational campaigns, develop new initiatives and raise awareness of student issues.

  • Eric Chappell
    Eric Chappell President

    Eric is the association’s president and the person responsible for creating and coordinating new policies, services and strategic plans. Eric works with the executive, the university and community partners.

  • Benjamin Mackenzie
    Benjamin Mackenzie Vice-President Student Life
    Benjamin is responsible for the planning and execution of all campus events that surround student life. He works with all the clubs on campus and involves students to help them improve their experience of life on campus.

Fees & Finances

Where does your money go?

You work hard for your money, and we want you to know exactly where it’s going. As a non-profit organization, the Students’ General Association puts each of your hard earned dollars back into making your university experience the very best it can be. If you have any questions regarding our fees please use the contact form below.

Laurentian University Compulsory Fees 2020-2021

Laurentian Mandatory Fees (not collected by the SGA)

Full-Time
Athletic Fee $91.21
Health Services Fee $29.49
Student ID Card Fee $10.20
Accident Insurance Fee $4.00
Access Copyright Fee $12.00
Mental Health and Wellness Fee $40.80
Career Services Fee $15.30
Academic Support Fee $20.40
Student Planning Technology Fee $30.60
Financial Literacy Fee $10.20
Campus Safety Fee $24.48
Sexual Violence Prevention Fee $18.36
Student Recreation Centre Fee $45.00
Recreation Programming Fee $15.00
Total $367.04
Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Athletic Fee $11.40
Student ID Card Fee $1.28
Access Copyright Fee $1.50
Mental Health and Wellness Fee $5.10
Career Services Fee $1.92
Academic Support Fee $2.55
Student Planning Technology Fee $3.83
Financial Literacy Fee $1.28
Campus Safety Fee $3.06
Sexual Violence Prevention Fee $2.30
Recreation Programming Fee $1.88
Total $36.10

Questions?

SGA/AGÉ Fees 2020-2021

Full-Time
Student Centre Fee $114.00
SGA Administrative Fee $111.50
UPASS (city transit pass) $206.00
Health Plan and Dental Plan $294.51
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $26.39
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $5.42
Laurentian University Pride Centre $3.00
ISC – Indigenous Students Circle $3.00
World University Service of Canada (WUSC) $3.00
Food bank $1.00
Sustainability $8.00
Total $775.82
Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Student Centre Support Fee $18.30
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $3.30
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $0.68
Laurentian University Pride Centre $0.38
ISC – Indigenous Students Circle $0.38
World University Service of Canada (WUSC) $0.38
Food bank $0.13
Sustainability $1.00
Total $24.55

*Opt-out available.

Full-Time Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Student Newspaper (Lambda) $10.00 Student Newspaper (Lambda) $1.25
CKLU Radio Station $10.00 CKLU Radio Station $1.25
Clubs Support Fee $10.00 Clubs Support Fee $1.25
SGA Premium Membership $45.00 SGA Association Governnance $5.63
Community Events Support $15.00 Community Events Support $1.88
Total $90.00 Total $11.26

Policies

Coming Soon!

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng pending approval

February 26th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

Feburary 26th, 2017 eng pending approval