Governance

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the Governing body of the association. All significant decisions must pass through the Board of Directors before taking effect. The board is composed of three main groups: the Executive Committee, the Senators, and constituent groups and various other representatives. The Executive Committee includes the President, Vice-President of Policy and Advocacy, Vice-President of Student Life, and the Executive Director. The SGA/AGÉ has six senators, one of which must be elected by the Indigenous Student Circle. There are seats for each of our identified constituency groups as well as three seats for housing one for off-campus, one for Laurentian residence, one for the federated residences, and one for a community or Laurentian representative. The Board of Directors is responsible for approving the budget and annual operations of the SGA/AGÉ. It also ratifies SGA/AGÉ clubs, creates policies to help guide the organization, and is responsible for establishing and abiding by the Constitution and Bylaws for the conduct of its affairs. Each year the Board of Directors is the legal sponsor of the elections and referenda for the SGA/AGÉ.

Members of the Board of Directors

Positions Name Email Program Year
Womens’ rep. Leah McGillivary lmcgillivary@laurentian.ca Forensics 3
Community rep. Tannys Laughren tlaughren@hsnsudbury.ca Former SGA/AGE Executive Director N/A
Indigenous rep. Gabrielle Pellerin
Pride rep. Neill Martin nmartin@laurentian.ca Biology 4
International rep. Vacant
Faculty of Art rep. Vacant
Faculty of Education rep. Robert Moyer rmoyer@laurentian.ca History and Con Ed. 3
Faculty of Health rep. Sarah Vaughan svaughan@laurentian.ca Sports and Physical Education 2
Faculty of Management rep. Roberto Bagnato rbagnato@laurentian.ca Sports Administration 4
Faculty of Medicine rep Oluwadamilola Bodunde obodunde@nosm.ca NOSM 1
Chair & Faculty of Science, Engineering, Architecture Andrew Bradley abradley@laurentian.ca Geology 3
Residence rep. Marcus Vial mvial@laurentian.ca Chemical Engineering 1
Off-Campus rep. Ra’anaa Brown rbrown1@laurentian.ca Architecture 4
Barrie rep. Coming
ISC Senator Vacant
Senator Katlyn Kotila kkotila@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Tomas Antolin Grant tantolin_grant@laurentian.ca ADVL N/A
Senator Matthew Keith mkeith@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Troy Liddell tliddell@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Jacob Fielding jfielding@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
VPSL Whitney Simpson vpstudentlife@laurentian.ca  SPAD 4
VPPA Kathryn Kettle vppolicy@laurentian.ca Biomedical Biology 4
President Tommi Lee Gauthier sgapresident@laurentian.ca Sociology 4
COO of the SGA/AGÉ Amanda Lachapelle sga@laurentian.ca SGA COO N/A

Executives

  • Tommi Lee Gauthier
    Tommi Lee Gauthier President

    Tommi is the Chief Executive Officer of the Association and is responsible for creating and coordinating new policies, services, and strategic plans. Tommi collaborates with the Executive branch, the University, and the community partners.

  • Whitney Simpson
    Whitney Simpson Vice President (Student Life)

    Whitney is responsible for the planning and execution of Welcome Week, Pub Nights, social activities, student campaigns and overseeing clubs. Whitney also works with the community to enhance services offered to our students and overall student life!

  • Kathryn Kettle
    Kathryn Kettle Vice-President (Policy and Advocacy)

    Kathryn represents the student body during conversations with the university and elected officials. It is also her responsibility to make officials aware of student issues and to develop new student initiatives.

Senators

  • Jacob Fielding
    Jacob Fielding Senator

    Coming Soon!

  • Troy Liddell
    Troy Liddell Senator

    Coming Soon!

  • Matthew Keith
    Matthew Keith Senator

    Coming Soon!

  • Katlyn Kotila
    Katlyn Kotila Senator

    Coming Soon!

  • Tomas Antolin
    Tomas Antolin Senator

    Coming Soon!

Fees & Finances

Where does your money go?

You work hard for your money, and we want you to know exactly where it’s going. As a non-profit organization, the Students’ General Association puts each of your hard earned dollars back into making your university experience the very best it can be. If you have any questions regarding our fees please use the contact form below.

Laurentian University Compulsory Fees 2018-2019

Student ID Card $4.00
Athletics $85.95
Health Services $20.00
Life Insurance $4.00
College or Professional Schools $10.00
Students Recreation Centre Levy $75.00
Student Center Fee $5.00
Access Copyright Fee $20.50
Total Compulsory Fees $224.45

Questions?

SGA/AGÉ Fees

2018-2019

LAMBDA (Student Newspaper) $10.00
CKLU 96.7 FM  (Radio Station) $10.00
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $3.10
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $16.74
Events $15.00
Student Governance $127.40
Sustainability $5.00
Welcome Week $15.00
Health and Dental Plan
Administration
$4.00
Health Plan Debt $3.00
Health Plan* $142.94
Dental Plan* $122.52
Student Centre Fee $114.00
Womyn’s Centre $3.00
World University Service of Canada $3.00
LUCERT $3.00
Laurentian University Pride Centre $2.00
Indigenous Students Circle $3.00
Student Wellness $5.00
UPASS Admin Fee $6.00
UPASS* $196.00
Total SGA Fees $809.70
Total Incidental & SGA Fees  $1,034.15

*Opt-out available.

Policies

Coming

Soon!