Governance

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the Governing body of the association. All significant decisions must pass through the Board of Directors before taking effect. The board is composed of three main groups: the Executive Committee, the Senators, and constituent groups and various other representatives. The Executive Committee includes the President, Vice-President of Policy and Advocacy, Vice-President of Student Life, and the Executive Director. The SGA/AGÉ has six senators, one of which must be elected by the Indigenous Student Circle. There are seats for each of our identified constituency groups as well as three seats for housing one for off-campus, one for Laurentian residence, one for the federated residences, and one for a community or Laurentian representative. The Board of Directors is responsible for approving the budget and annual operations of the SGA/AGÉ. It also ratifies SGA/AGÉ clubs, creates policies to help guide the organization, and is responsible for establishing and abiding by the Constitution and Bylaws for the conduct of its affairs. Each year the Board of Directors is the legal sponsor of the elections and referenda for the SGA/AGÉ.

Members of the Board of Directors

Positions Name Email Program Year
Womens’ rep. Lovette Nyembwa mnyembwa@laurentian.ca
Community rep. Tannys Laughren tlaughren@hsnsudbury.ca Former SGA/AGE Executive Director N/A
Indigenous rep. Christine Trudeau ctrudeau1@laurentian.ca
Pride rep. Kyle Laframboise klaframboise1@laurentian.ca
International rep. Peter Olowu aolowu@laurentian.ca
Chair & Faculty of Art rep. Justin Pappano sgaagechairperson@laurentian.ca Modern Languages & Lit. 2
Faculty of Education rep. Robert Moyer rmoyer@laurentian.ca History and Con Ed. 4
Faculty of Health rep. Taylor Staden tstaden@laurentian.ca Sport Psychology 3
Faculty of Management rep. Noah Blackwell nblackwell@laurentian.ca
Faculty of Medicine rep Vacant
Faculty of Science, Engineering, Architecture Vacant
Laurentian Residence rep. Luke Robinson lrobinson3@laurentian.ca
Federated Residence rep. Levi Clow lclow@laurentian.ca
Off-Campus rep. Serina Seguin sseguin1@laurentian.ca
Barrie rep. Amber Craig  ax_keefer@laurentian.ca  Social Work 4
ISC Senator Natalia Liberty nliberty@laurentian.ca
Senator Katlyn Kotila kkotila@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Tomas Antolin Grant tantolin_grant@laurentian.ca ADVL N/A
Senator Matthew Keith mkeith@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Troy Liddell tliddell@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
Senator Jacob Fielding jfielding@laurentian.ca N/A N/A
VPSL Whitney Simpson vpstudentlife@laurentian.ca  SPAD 4
VPPA Kathryn Kettle vppolicy@laurentian.ca Biomedical Biology 4
President Tommi Lee Gauthier sgapresident@laurentian.ca Sociology 4
COO of the SGA/AGÉ Amanda Lachapelle sga@laurentian.ca SGA COO N/A
First-year rep. Vacant

Executives

  • Tommi Lee Gauthier
    Tommi Lee Gauthier President

    Tommi is the Cheif Executive Officer of the Association and the individual responsible for creating and coordinating new policies, services, and strategic plans. She collaborates with the Executive Branch, the University, and community partners.

  • Whitney Simpson
    Whitney Simpson Vice President (Student Life)

    Whitney is responsible for the planning and execution of Welcome Week, Pub Nights, social activities, student campaigns and overseeing clubs. Whitney also works with the community to enhance services offered to our students and overall student life!

  • Kathryn Kettle
    Kathryn Kettle Vice-President (Policy and Advocacy)

    Kathryn represents the student body during conversations with the university and elected officials. It is also her responsibility to make officials aware of student issues and to develop new student initiatives.

Fees & Finances

Where does your money go?

You work hard for your money, and we want you to know exactly where it’s going. As a non-profit organization, the Students’ General Association puts each of your hard earned dollars back into making your university experience the very best it can be. If you have any questions regarding our fees please use the contact form below.

Laurentian University Compulsory Fees 2018-2019

Student ID Card $4.08
Athletics $87.67
Health Services $20.40
Life Insurance $4.00
College or Professional Schools* $10.00
Student Recreation Centre Levy $75.00
Student Center Fee $5.00
Access Copyright Fee $12.00
Total Compulsory Fees $218.15

*Fee will only be charged to pro Schools as of September not all programs will be charged.

Questions?

SGA/AGÉ Fees

2018-2019

LAMBDA (Student Newspaper) $10.00
CKLU 96.7 FM  (Radio Station) $10.00
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $3.10
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $16.74
Events $15.00
Student Governance $127.40
Sustainability $5.00
Welcome Week $15.00
Health and Dental Plan
Administration
$4.00
Health Plan Debt $3.00
Health Plan* $142.94
Dental Plan* $122.52
Student Centre Fee $114.00
Womyn’s Centre $3.00
World University Service of Canada $3.00
LUCERT $3.00
Laurentian University Pride Centre $2.00
Indigenous Students Circle $3.00
Student Wellness $5.00
UPASS Admin Fee $6.00
UPASS* $196.00
Total SGA Fees $809.70
Total Incidental & SGA Fees  $1027.85

*Opt-out available.

Policies

Coming

Soon!

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng pending approval

February 26th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

Feburary 26th, 2017 eng pending approval