Governance

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the Governing body of the association. All significant decisions must pass through the Board of Directors before taking effect. The board is composed of three main groups: the Executive Committee, the Senators, and constituent groups and various other representatives. The Executive Committee includes the President, Vice-President of Policy and Advocacy, Vice-President of Student Life, and the Executive Director. The SGA/AGÉ has six senators, one of which must be elected by the Indigenous Student Circle. There are seats for each of our identified constituency groups as well as three seats for housing one for off-campus, one for Laurentian residence, one for the federated residences, and one for a community or Laurentian representative. The Board of Directors is responsible for approving the budget and annual operations of the SGA/AGÉ. It also ratifies SGA/AGÉ clubs, creates policies to help guide the organization, and is responsible for establishing and abiding by the Constitution and Bylaws for the conduct of its affairs. Each year the Board of Directors is the legal sponsor of the elections and referenda for the SGA/AGÉ.

Members of the Board of Directors

Positions Name Email Program Year
Womens’ Representative Lovette Nyembwa mnyembwa@laurentian.ca
Community Representative Tannys Laughren tlaughren@hsnsudbury.ca Former SGA/AGE Executive Director N/A
Indigenous Representative Christine Trudeau ctrudeau1@laurentian.ca
Pride Representative Kyle Laframboise klaframboise1@laurentian.ca
International Representative Peter Olowu aolowu@laurentian.ca
Chair & Faculty of Arts Justin Pappano sgaagechairperson@laurentian.ca Modern Languages & Lit. 2
Faculty of Education Robert Moyer rmoyer@laurentian.ca History and Con Ed. 4
Faculty of Health Taylor Staden tstaden@laurentian.ca Sport Psychology 3
Faculty of Management Noah Blackwell nblackwell@laurentian.ca
Faculty of Medicine Jennifer Glassford  jglassford@nosm.ca
Faculty of Science, Engineering, and Architecture Simone Smith  ssmith9@laurentian.ca
Laurentian Residence Representative Luke Robinson lrobinson3@laurentian.ca
Federated Residence Representative Levi Clow lclow@laurentian.ca
Off-Campus Representative Serina Seguin sseguin1@laurentian.ca
Barrie Representative Amber Craig  ax_keefer@laurentian.ca  Social Work 4
ISC Senator Natalia Liberty nliberty@laurentian.ca
Senator Matthew Keith mkeith@laurentian.ca
Senator Jacob Fielding  jfielding@laurentian.ca
President Eric Chappell sgapresident@laurentian.ca BBA
Vice President of Student Life Tomas Antolin Grant vpstudentlife@laurentian.ca ADVL 3
Vice President Education Katlyn Kotila vpeducation@laurentian.ca Communications and Political Science 2
Interim COO of the SGA/AGÉ Jenna Thornber sga@laurentian.ca SGA COO N/A
First-year rep. Cory Clark cclark3@laurentian.ca

Executives

  • Malek Abou-Rabia
    Malek Abou-Rabia Vice-President Education

    Malek represents and advocates for the interests of the student body in conversations with the university and elected officials. It is also Malek’s responsibility to carry out educational campaigns, develop new initiatives and raise awareness of student issues.

  • Eric Chappell
    Eric Chappell President

    Eric is the association’s president and the person responsible for creating and coordinating new policies, services and strategic plans. Eric works with the executive, the university and community partners.

  • Benjamin MacKenzie
    Benjamin MacKenzie Vice-President Student Life
    Benjamin is responsible for the planning and execution of all campus events that surround student life. He works with all the clubs on campus and involves students to help them improve their experience of life on campus.

Fees & Finances

Where does your money go?

You work hard for your money, and we want you to know exactly where it’s going. As a non-profit organization, the Students’ General Association puts each of your hard earned dollars back into making your university experience the very best it can be. If you have any questions regarding our fees please use the contact form below.

Laurentian University Compulsory Fees 2020-2021

Laurentian Mandatory Fees (not collected by the SGA)

Full-Time
Athletic Fee $91.21
Health Services Fee $29.49
Student ID Card Fee $10.20
Accident Insurance Fee $4.00
Access Copyright Fee $12.00
Mental Health and Wellness Fee $40.80
Career Services Fee $15.30
Academic Support Fee $20.40
Student Planning Technology Fee $30.60
Financial Literacy Fee $10.20
Campus Safety Fee $24.48
Sexual Violence Prevention Fee $18.36
Student Recreation Centre Fee $45.00
Recreation Programming Fee $15.00
Total $367.04
Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Athletic Fee $11.40
Student ID Card Fee $1.28
Access Copyright Fee $1.50
Mental Health and Wellness Fee $5.10
Career Services Fee $1.92
Academic Support Fee $2.55
Student Planning Technology Fee $3.83
Financial Literacy Fee $1.28
Campus Safety Fee $3.06
Sexual Violence Prevention Fee $2.30
Recreation Programming Fee $1.88
Total $36.10

Questions?

SGA/AGÉ Fees

2020-2021

Full-Time
Student Centre Fee $114.00
SGA Administrative Fee $111.50
UPASS (city transit pass) $206.00
Health Plan and Dental Plan $294.51
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $26.39
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $5.42
Laurentian University Pride Centre $3.00
ISC – Indigenous Students Circle $3.00
World University Service of Canada (WUSC) $3.00
Food bank $1.00
Sustainability $8.00
Total $775.82
Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Student Centre Support Fee $18.30
CFS (Canadian Federation of Students) $3.30
OUSA (Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance) $0.68
Laurentian University Pride Centre $0.38
ISC – Indigenous Students Circle $0.38
World University Service of Canada (WUSC) $0.38
Food bank $0.13
Sustainability $1.00
Total $24.55

*Opt-out available.

Full-Time Part-Time (per 3 credit course)
Student Newspaper (Lambda) $10.00 Student Newspaper (Lambda) $1.25
CKLU Radio Station $10.00 CKLU Radio Station $1.25
Clubs Support Fee $10.00 Clubs Support Fee $1.25
SGA Premium Membership $45.00 SGA Association Governnance $5.63
Community Events Support $15.00 Community Events Support $1.88
Total $90.00 Total $11.26

Policies

Coming

Soon!

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 10th, 2018 eng pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 22nd, 2018 eng pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

January 29th, 2018 eng pending approval

February 26th, 2018 eng minutes pending approval

Feburary 26th, 2017 eng pending approval